Soba Noodle Salad

image

The weather is scorching down here. Amazingly this is considered a “mild” summer here. My AC bill and sweat glands beg to differ. The hot weather has made my appetite rather low these days. It’s one of those feelings where you know you are craving something, but can’t quite put your finger on what it is. I came across this in Harumi’s Japanese CookingΒ and I figured I should give it a try since I had all the ingredients except a cucumber. I like her recipes because they are for the home cook and not necessarily the fancy Japanese food that costs an arm and a leg to make and eat. I know there are mayo haters out there, but I use the japanese mayo (Kewpie) which tastes so different from the basic mayo. Actually I bet it tastes even better if you made mayo from scratch, but I didn’t have the patience for that today. This “salad” is simple with some tuna, onion, cucumber, and soba noodles. Add mayo, pepper, soy sauce to taste and mix well. This was really pleasantly surprising. Yes the raw onion was a bit harsh even after soaking in water, but next time I should be a little more diligent in THINLY slicing the onion. My gut is telling me it’s going to taste even better tomorrow after being chilled in the fridge. Truth? I’m still on the hunt for whatever it is I am craving, but this hit the spot for tonight.

2 thoughts on “Soba Noodle Salad

Leave a Reply

