Sausage Lentil Soup

It is colder here than I expected. I know it is nothing like where I grew up, but perhaps this city just makes me wimpy to the cold. When cold weather blows through then there is nothing better than a hot bowl of soup. image

I had some red lentils that I wanted to use so I went back to Bittman’s trusty How to Cook Everything Vegetarian and made his basic lentil soup. I didn’t make it vegetarian though. I added in some spicy Italian sausage to give it some kick. Just throw it in and cook it a little before throwing in the rest of the vegetables. Since I didn’t have any vegetable stock I used chicken stock instead. I didn’t leave the onions/garlic separate but just put everything in the pot. At the end, I put a large handful of fresh spinach in my bowl, and then ladled the soup on top. I find putting in the amount you are about to eat will keep the spinach tasting good. Grate parmesan cheese over the top. It was divine and I had two bowls. Unlike other lentils soups I’ve had in the past, this was not thick. It had lots of broth, though I would keep adding more since the lentils absorb quite a bit of it. Try this soup! It’s a great way to kick of the chilly new year.

One thought on “Sausage Lentil Soup

Leave a Reply

