Marinated Steak with Garlic Snow Pea Leaves

If there is one thing about Chinese cooking that I love, it’s their sauteed greens. It is so simple and yet there are times that I absolutely crave them. While I think the restaurant-version is undoubtedly tastier (and who knows probably a bit more unhealthy) I think mine didn’t come out too bad. Plus I added in some steak marinated in some typical Korean bbq sauce, add a scoop of rice to the plate, and voila, a tasty fusion plate that will satisfy all my current cravings.image

You can google sauteed snow pea leaves, but basically in a large wok/pan warm some oil, sautee LOTS of garlic-the more the better(trust me it mellows out and just adds great flavor), throw the greens in and coat the greens with the oil, add salt (about 1 tbs), cover and steam for a few minutes until bright green. If they are still tough you can just steam the greens a bit longer. I added a little bit of water to help with the steaming process.

The meat I just marinated for at least a 1/2 hour. Make sure the meat isn’t cold before you grill/cook it. I ended up broiling the meat for about 3-4 minutes per side. It was not a thick cut nor expensive piece of meat. Next time I think I would do better to pick one with more fat in it. I loved the char texture, just make sure you have good ventilation because the nature of the marinade, it is easy to smoke up.  This whole dish was easy for anyone to try out at only a fraction of the cost. My huge plate of snow pea leaves cost me only about $4 where it would normally cost about $9.99 in the restaurant.

One thought on “Marinated Steak with Garlic Snow Pea Leaves

  1. it’s very motherly of you to compare the price of “making at home” versus at the restaurant 🙂 and i have to say, this is how vegetables need to be eaten – with meat! 🙂

Leave a Reply

