Chicken Noodle Soup

Was feeling under the weather and it seemed only right to make a massive batch of chicken noodle soup. Chicken soup isn’t that complicated and there are probably tons of recipes out there. I got my inspiration from How to Cook Everything by Mark Bittman, which if you don’t have is definitely a must-buy! This book is great for taking any ingredient and then getting tons of ideas of how to cook it. I like the straightforward nature of this book and how simple everything is. Soup really is a blank canvas and you can easily make it your own so I added garlic, carrots, celery, corn (cause I love it even though it isn’t typical) and just tore up a rotisserie  chicken to add at the very end. No need to overcook the darn thing. I didn’t only use chicken stock, simply because I didn’t need something super rich. I added in bay leaves, and thyme for some seasoning. Noodles I cooked separately (used egg noodles~the only way to go for chicken soup!) and just added the amount I needed to the soup. I found leaving the noodles in with the soup would make them soggy, bloated, and completely unappealing. Trust me when I say this soup lasted me for many days.

Who knows if chicken soup is really good for the soul, or if it really does help heal the body. One could get into a debate about this for days. All I know is it sure was tasty going down and even with little to no appetite I still consumed many bowls of this feeling content

2 thoughts on “Chicken Noodle Soup

  1. there is no debate – chicken soup is great for the soul and this one looks awesome! and i’m glad that you’ve introduced us to THE book 🙂

Leave a Reply

