Potato Croquettes

image

After cooking those scalloped potatoes, I had a ton (and I mean A TON) of leftovers. I had been craving potato croquettes for awhile, so I decided to try my hand at converting these leftovers into some. Sadly I didn’t have panko on hand, so I used breadcrumbs. While they definitely turned out crunchy, I wonder how it might change the texture if I had used panko instead. Using this recipe  as a template I went forth to try some light frying. I mashed the rest of the potatoes to make it creamier, but kept it cold so that I could mold them better. The only other substitution was using breadcrumbs instead of panko. Not needing a lot of oil, I just used a small pot to fry 2 at a time.

It tasted great! Sadly I think because the potatoes were already super rich frying it just made it all out decadence on a plate. I still am at the brink of scrapping the rest of the potatoes out of sheer pity for my stomach. I used some hoisin and sirracha sauce to cut through the richness nicely though!

3 thoughts on “Potato Croquettes

  1. rich, smich… it sounds awesome 🙂 this is making me very sad that we live so far apart – we would love to help with your leftovers ;)…

Leave a Reply

