Sides of Decadence

image

image

Main dishes are totally awesome, but there are times when I get more excited about menus that let you pick 3 sides to have as your meal. It keeps my taste buds singing as I have a little bit of this and a little bit of that. I tried 2 new online recipes featuring brussel sprouts and potatoes with parsnips. I had a full meal of eating these yummy sides.

Brussel Sprouts I cooked in Momofuku style~ roasted and then tossed with a light sauce.. Crunchy, savory, sweet, tart… all the great flavors in one yummy bite.

Potatoes gratin were creamy, and I should’ve done the initial cooking in a bigger pot so then the cream sauce would’ve been thicker, but it’s still decadent all the same. Instead of rutabaga which I didn’t have I sliced up some parsnips. I sprinkled the top with some breadcrumbs as well as cheese and it gave me extra crunch on the top. I don’t think I would do this recipe again. It was super super rich, and as leftovers it isn’t as tasty. However, it probably would be great as a party-side. I think it ended up being too much for me.

3 thoughts on “Sides of Decadence

  1. i think we need to visit this momofuko place you speak of because you make it sound so tasty (even if it they are brussel sprouts).

Leave a Reply

