Tortellini with Butternut Squash, Mushrooms, and Fontina

Continuing on this Real Simple kick I recently cooked up a huge batch of Tortellini with Butternut Squash, Mushrooms, and Fontina cheese from the October 2011 issue. Ok this dish was SOO EASY, and tasted soo good. How can anyone go wrong with cheese? Best yet, tortellini is one of my favorite pastas to eat. I was apprehensive on the butternut squash because the first time I ever tried to peel one yielded lots of cursing and frustration. This time I found out you can nuke the squash for about 1-2 min and the outside will come off with a peeler. Easy.

Roast the squash with the mushrooms. If there was one thing I wanted it was more mushrooms!! I definitely did not add enough. I loved the smoky contrast to the sweet squash. Boil pasta. Shred cheese. Toss all together in same pasta pot. Stupid easy…..

I would say it took a bit of time, but it was well worth it. I had way more servings than just 4.

Oh!! Here’s a bonus~ So with my asseenontv gadget Ready Set Go. I tried the instant pizza dough. TASTY. EASY. Cooked in 7min. It tastes like a nice bread when I sprinkled the dough with some thyme, olive oil, salt. I cant get enough of the stuff, good thing the dough made can be divided into 12 of these things. 

4 thoughts on “Tortellini with Butternut Squash, Mushrooms, and Fontina

  1. Pingback: Tortelleni and Mock Tomato Pesto Sauce | Holy Poached Eggs! Tortelleni and Mock Tomato Pesto Sauce | A Southern Guy's Blog about Eating

  2. CHEESE… you are so right that there is no way to go wrong with cheese. and i think i’m gonna have to talk to suzette about getting this redi set go thing? 🙂

Leave a Reply

