Hodo Kwaja

Hodo Kwaja is a Korean street snack that is round and a kind of pancake outside and filled with red bean paste, or walnuts, or more modernly filled with other sweet fillings. Being in the US I dont have access to the fancy machines, nor molds. Oh yea and these aren’t sold anywhere near where I am. But I was determined to find some low-key way of making them.

Cue As-Seen-On-Tv ad for Xpress Redi-Set-Go. I was a bit aghast that I received one of these, but dang those infomercials are so convincing! Anyhoo I used the multi-well insert that came with it and proceeded to make my kwajas. I can probably work on the batter to get the right consistency, but I like the chewy texture and they are so easy to make that Im ok with compromising on the shape. I can almost justify these snacks as being mostly healthy. At least I’ll keep thinking that, you decide for yourselves.

I got the recipe via here , but I modified it a bit.

  • 2 cups of whole wheat flour
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 2 TBS sugar
  • Flavored extract, just a little to taste (I used almond)
  • Water~ add until a pancake batter consistency
  • Red-bean filling (you can get from a can)

Mix together ingredients minus the red bean filling with a whisk

Make sure to pre-spray the wells on the insert and preheat Xpress Redi-Set Go

Fill a tiny bit of the wells with the batter.

Spoon a bit of the red-bean filling inside

Top with more batter

Close and cook for 7 minutes.

Pop out and enjoy!

Hodo Kwaja

3 thoughts on “Hodo Kwaja

Leave a Reply

