Slow Cooker Sausages Over Slow Cooker Polenta

I have been trying to use up things in my freezer and pantry since it seems like such a shame when I open the freezer and it’s stuffed, but I can’t think of anything to eat. So I had lots of Texas style sausages, and I got some sweet apple/gouda sausages and threw them into the slow cooker along with a can of diced tomatoes, and a can of tomatoes with green chilies. I was inspired by this $5dollardinner recipe but I couldn’t find frozen green peppers cut in a style I thought would taste good. I had good intentions to just saute some julienned green peppers and onions that way they would stay crunchy, but in the end I was too hungry to wait. I liked the texture of the sausages, and what was surprising was the mysterious TX sausage texture was preferable for me over the more “known brand” apple sausage. I could’ve used more kick, I thought it would be spicier with the green chili peppers added, but it was too mild for me.

The other slow cooker recipe I used was Creamy Slow Cooker Polenta from Not Your Mother’s Slow Cooker for Two by Beth Hensperger . Aside from the fact that I LOVE all cookbooks by Hensperger, I was thinking the tomato-y sausages would taste great over something creamy, and I have all this corn meal to use! I researched trying to do polenta in a slow cooker because I didn’t have time to stand over a stove and stir. I didn’t even really stir during the cooking since I was away at work. I used chicken stock instead of water so adding the salt probably made it a tad bit too salty, but the creamy consistency was PERFECT. A little pat of butter was all it needed (no cheese!) and the sausages with tomatoes paired perfectly. I had two servings!!!! I know the recipe said it was enough for 4, but I ate so much that there is barely 1 serving left for tomorrow!

One thought on “Slow Cooker Sausages Over Slow Cooker Polenta

  1. mmmmm… sausage… meat is good food :) and the polenta looks so creamy. i thought it was mashed potatoes at first glance. this looks awesome!

Leave a Reply

