Chicken Enchiladas

I was inspired by 5dollardinners when I received an email about using chicken in enchiladas . Her recipe uses chicken that was marinated in hot sauce, cooked slow and then shredded. I had leftover chicken from when I used the slow cooker to make Orange Hoisin Chicken from Not Your Mother’s Slow Cooker cookbook. So my chicken had a distinct asian flavor and I was contemplating if enchiladas would even work or totally taste awful. I made some homemade taco seasoning and I put in some Korean dried hot pepper in the seasoning instead of red pepper flakes. I also put in some Montreal Seasoning since I was short of onion powder and didn’t add salt/pepper since it was already in there. For the sauce I used the left over sauce from the chicken and added a big dollop of tomato paste in there that I had leftover from making some pizzas awhile back. It sounds awful, but I tasted it before I dumped in the rest of the sauce. The whole combination was surprisingly rich, tasty, tangy, with a smoky aspect to it from the cumin in the spices. I (finally!) used the tortillas I had to put in some chicken, and gorgonzola cheese crumbles rolled them up and nestled them into a 8×8 pan. I had just the right amount of chicken!  Mixing up the sauce I poured it over the top. I’m sure I could’ve used more sauce but I had no more and in the end it turned out to be just right. Sprinkling over leftover mozzarella cheese I didn’t have enough so I sprinkled some more gorgonzola on top. That cheese didn’t melt so well on top but it still tasted great. I don’t think I’ve ever met a cheese I didn’t like. All in all I was really happy with the turnout. I used things I had on hand and wanted to use up and it was a total experiment with no real written recipe (except for the seasoning!). Enchiladas~ a new “clean-out-the-fridge” recipe.

One thought on “Chicken Enchiladas

Leave a Reply

